PDA

View Full Version : Big Block Chevy engine mounting

56frank
12-11-2012, 07:34 PM
Good evening everyone! I'm looking for some information on mounting a 427 in a 56 chevy. I'm sure there is plenty of guys on here that have done this. I am new to tri-fives and would like some input on which mounting kits you guys recommend? My goal is to not have to mess with the stock firewall.

56frank
12-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Well I should have read a little more. I see some guys really liking Earle Williams mounts. The pictures of the mounts look beautiful! So I guess if anyone has any other opinions I'm open to them.

Rick_L
12-11-2012, 07:57 PM
I think the new style Earle Williams mounts are a great concept. I've not used them, but I've bought several items from Earle and anything he makes is good stuff.

I also think that the 3/4" forward mount that Earle does his stuff around is the best compromise for most setups, particularly if you don't go with a clip, etc. I'm sure Chevynut will pitch you his and how he mounts a BBC with that, but that's another deal over and above an engine swap.

56frank
12-11-2012, 09:54 PM
Thanks Rick! I'm going to look more into all of his products also. I'm trying to gather info so I have a plan of attack on my next project and this has helped. Thanks!

markm
12-12-2012, 06:34 AM
I very sucessfully used the 2.25

I sucessfully used the CCI 2.25 foward, I have room for taller valve covers. Anything less than Cnuts 1.5 may require a big hammer.

56frank
12-12-2012, 02:26 PM
Thanks mark I'll do research on them! Rather not break out the heavy hammer.

Rick_L
12-12-2012, 04:42 PM
"Rather not break out the heavy hammer."

A big block swap is always going to be a balancing act.

Don't move the engine forward at all, you have some serious firewall issues.
Move it forward 3/4", you have moderate firewall issues and moderate oil pan issues, but avoid accessory drive/fan/radiator issues.