PDA

View Full Version : stripes

warren57
09-29-2013, 04:42 PM
Since I'm still learning this whole basecoat/clearcoat thing, correct me if I'm wrong...
you can't spay clearcoat over a cured basecoat... you can spray basecoat over a cured clearcoat (such as adding stripes to an existing car)...you can spray clear over cured clear or base over cured base.
So if you wanted to two tone an existing vehicle, you would scuff the area of the color change, spray new base coat color and clear. Or if you were doing a stripe, you would scuff the panel, spray the stripe and clear the panel.
Am I understanding correctly?

Rick_L
09-29-2013, 05:59 PM
Yes you understand correctly.

Another way to do two tone, especially a stripe, is to use what's called "intercoat clear" on both bases. Then use standard clear over everything after sanding the edge of the stripe. This eliminates the step at the edge of the stripe that will otherwise occur, and it keeps the tape from pulling up base, which can happen too.

You might want to google for more details. Or maybe a pro painter will post some.

chevynut
09-30-2013, 11:14 AM
Rick, how do you sand the edge of a stripe without screwing it up? I understood if you took off the tape immediately after spraying the edges would be softer.

warren57
09-30-2013, 02:05 PM
Yes you understand correctly.

Another way to do two tone, especially a stripe, is to use what's called "intercoat clear" on both bases. Then use standard clear over everything after sanding the edge of the stripe. This eliminates the step at the edge of the stripe that will otherwise occur, and it keeps the tape from pulling up base, which can happen too.

You might want to google for more details. Or maybe a pro painter will post some.