PDA

View Full Version : 55 dash lights/ignition switch Part 2

56-210Sedan
05-23-2014, 11:06 AM
I have a thread on dash lights http://www.trifivechevys.com/showthread.php/3260-dash-lights-placement-for-a-55 and this questions sorta ties into it so this is why i say part 2.

The light that goes to the ignition switch will work when i touch it to a test light, but once i install it in the ignition switch then nothing happens meaning it will not light up.

I am not very good with electrical but i would think with what i keep finding this would mean that there is no ground with the ignition switch?? but that makes no sense to me if that were the case you would think the switch itself would not work.

I really do not know what inspired me to work on this electrical stuff other then i do not have funding to work on my other project and i am bored out my skull so i thought i would take on something that is not a big cost to play with, so with that said what are your thoughts what should be my next step, i really want to conquer this monster even though i really do not need the lights it is just driving me nuts that wires are hanging and not in the correct areas so i want to clean things up.

chevynut
05-23-2014, 03:27 PM
The ignition switch body is probably not grounded. I assume the lamp socket has one wire, and a metal case. That metal case needs to be grounded. It normally would plug into the ignition switch and the switch should be grounded to the dash.

The ignition switch does not have to be grounded to work on the starter or any other functions. Just the light.

56-210Sedan
05-23-2014, 04:55 PM
The ignition switch body is probably not grounded. I assume the lamp socket has one wire, and a metal case. That metal case needs to be grounded. It normally would plug into the ignition switch and the switch should be grounded to the dash.

The ignition switch does not have to be grounded to work on the starter or any other functions. Just the light.