PDA

View Full Version : 1957 ORIGINAL FI CAR??

Maddog
09-29-2014, 03:28 PM
I was looking at this ad and it seems to me that the owner most know it's not an original FI car as claimed. I say this because of the price. In my opinion if it was 1 of 524 original cars it would be selling for much more then $85K, especially restored.

http://www.hotrodhotline.com/classifieds/classifieds.php?a=2&b=51221

markm
09-29-2014, 04:52 PM
I really do not know enough about these cars to comment, other than it seems to be priced low if legit,

Rick_L
09-29-2014, 04:56 PM
There are ways to tell original FI parts and features on the car and it has a couple of the ones I know, but I'm no expert.

There is also the matter of the FI unit matching the month of production, as there were 3 p/ns of FI unit in 1957. Plus all the correct date codes on everything else.

When I see nice numbers matching 57 convertibles only getting $45k bids at the big auctions, $85k for an original FI hardtop seems realistic. More details needed to narrow it down.
But a true numbers matching original FI car would seem to call for a bigger asking price.

One speculation that would support the price and not be a false claim - it is an original FI car but some part(s) don't match.

Maddog
09-29-2014, 05:08 PM
Maybe cars are selling for less in your area but everyday Tri5's sell for $45-$55K all day long around here, typical 350/350 combos with nothing special drop spindles etc. The 57 verts that are restored sell for $80K and up here also. I think this car has to be bogus to only ask $85K. Especially considering that he would probably take a little less then asking price. Real 57 FI cars are so rare I doubt if any real ones actually still exist. I'm not sure how one could even prove one is real or not even with matching number components, I guess an original sales invoice but those can be reproduced also.

Rick_L
09-29-2014, 05:53 PM