Just joined? Please introduce yourself.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New owner and need advice(coz im new to it all)

Registered Member

Member #:3190

New owner and need advice(coz im new to it all)

Hi there, Got myself a nice 55 belair 4 door and would like to do a few changes. It has a fresh 350 crate engine and TH350 fitted and id ike to do the mods below.Any advice would be great.

I d like to put power brakes/disc front end on. Which kit/s are the best easiest etc??
    Also want to upgrade to power steering, which kit is the way to go?
    And...
    want to change to Alternator instead of generator. Which one?
    lastly,
    Air conditioning. Which kit is the way to go.

would it be best to go the serpentine belt route??

Cheers, Rob

Member #:1653
    Welcome aboard Rob! All of the items are certainly doable. Do you have a budget assigned for all of it or each item? Will you be performing the tasks? What wheels are you presently running? Each brake kit, has it's own peculiarities and requirements. What have you researched so far? AC can be mild to wild depending upon controls wanted (manual or digital/electronic). Are you wanting to add bling or stay with a unassuming under hood look? Serpentine can be costly especially if from the AC manufacturer..

Member #:115
    Welcome to the site Rob. There are many kits available to add disc brakes to a tri5, but the biggest difference between them is if you also want dropped spindles. There are fewer kits, maybe 1 or 2, that work with stock spindles.

As far as power steering, the CPP 500 box seems to be the preferred choice now. The rack and pinion setups are more expensive and cause other issues because they're rear steer (behind the spindle). If you change the box, you will probably have to go with an aftermarket column too unless you can modify the stock one. It would have to be cut off of the stock box and the proper rag joint installed.