Just joined? Please introduce yourself.
Classic Edge Designs, LLC Prime Custom Cars, LLC MadMooks
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: is a relay needed for power seats?

  1. #1
    Registered Member WagonCrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Member #:530
    Location
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Posts
    924

    is a relay needed for power seats?

    wiring up the 57 nomad. have power bucket seats out of a lexus .
    the fuse panel is mounted to the center trans tunnel, just ahead of the T56 shifter.
    is there any reason why i need to wire in a relay to power the seats?
    its less than a 3 foot wire run from fuse panel to each seat motor.
    can i just wire them both to thru a fuse in the panel and call it a day?

    would be wired to 'always hot 12v" so they can be operated with the engine off...

    hmmm, i wonder if the electronics under each seat already have relays there? gonna have to check that.

    if not, thinking of wiring directly to a 30 amp fuse ...no relay.

    problems?
    1957 Nomad- LS1/T56 on C4 chassis- [URL=http://s78.photobucket.com/user/pcardey/library/57%20Chevy%20Nomad%20wagon[/URL]

    1959 Fleetside Apache 1/2 ton, shortbed, big window- [URL=http://s78.photobucket.com/user/pcardey/library/59%20Apached%20Fleetside%20Big%20Window%20Shortbed[/URL]

  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017

    Member #:3454
    Location
    Rowlett (DFW), TX
    Posts
    103
    I think if you use a heavy enough wire you will not need a relay. I think I would use a circuit breaker though and make sure it is close to the power source.

  3. #3
    Registered Member Custer55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015

    Member #:2442
    Location
    Custer, WI
    Posts
    269
    If I remember correctly I wired mine to direct battery power on a 30 amp breaker with a circuit breaker also. I have not had any issues with it that way but I rarely adjust the seat anyway. I am it's only driver and once I set the seat to my liking it hasn't been moved much anyway.
    Brian

  4. #4
    Registered Member WagonCrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Member #:530
    Location
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Posts
    924
    seems like a wiring a circuit breaker and a fuse inline is redundant?
    1957 Nomad- LS1/T56 on C4 chassis- [URL=http://s78.photobucket.com/user/pcardey/library/57%20Chevy%20Nomad%20wagon[/URL]

    1959 Fleetside Apache 1/2 ton, shortbed, big window- [URL=http://s78.photobucket.com/user/pcardey/library/59%20Apached%20Fleetside%20Big%20Window%20Shortbed[/URL]

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012

    Member #:571
    Posts
    3,363
    30A seems like a lot of current for a power seat.

    I don't think that power seats usually use relays in their OEM applications.

    A review of the wiring diagram for the car your seats came from would be useful, and duplicating what the factory did on that would be good.

  6. #6
    Registered Member chevynut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Member #:115
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    9,158
    Adding a relay for seat power would be redundant. Every motor is driven by a relay already, or by a switch made to switch that much current. My driver's seat motors are switched through a memory module with relays inside of it, and the passenger seat switches switch the power to the motors directly. The only question imo is whether you should use a fuse or a breaker. The seat motors shouldn't take anywhere near 30 amps...probably under 10A in normal operation. The fuse is only there to protect the wiring in case something shorts out.
    56 Nomad, Ramjet 502, Viper 6-speed T56, C4 Corvette front and rear suspension

    You can see my 56 Nomad build here http://www.picturetrail.com/chevynut

    For affordable C4 Corvette Suspension conversions for your car, visit http://www.classicedgedesigns.com

    Other vehicles:

    56 Chevy 2-door BelAir sedan
    56 Chevy 210 4-door sedan
    57 Chevy 210 4-door sedan
    1961 Willys CJ3B Jeep
    2001 Porsche Boxster S
    2003 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Duramax

  7. #7
    Registered Member WagonCrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Member #:530
    Location
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Posts
    924
    Thanks guys.

    You know you are losing it when you've gone down this road before, completely forgot about it, then did a google search and found the link IN THIS FORUM where you went all around the issue and back again.

    Sheesh...my brain is toast...

    http://www.trifivechevys.com/showthr...in-our-tri-5-s
    1957 Nomad- LS1/T56 on C4 chassis- [URL=http://s78.photobucket.com/user/pcardey/library/57%20Chevy%20Nomad%20wagon[/URL]

    1959 Fleetside Apache 1/2 ton, shortbed, big window- [URL=http://s78.photobucket.com/user/pcardey/library/59%20Apached%20Fleetside%20Big%20Window%20Shortbed[/URL]

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018

    Member #:3682
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    102
    One thing you may want to consider WC is where you are connecting to power. If the power is switched (eg by the ignition switch), you may want to use a relay to limit the current handled by the switch. Dick

  9. #9
    Registered Member chevynut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Member #:115
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    9,158
    I'm pretty sure every car I have has the power seats wired hot all the time. I'm going to use a 30A breaker that is fed straight from the battery to power my seats. I already have enough relays as it is .
    56 Nomad, Ramjet 502, Viper 6-speed T56, C4 Corvette front and rear suspension

    You can see my 56 Nomad build here http://www.picturetrail.com/chevynut

    For affordable C4 Corvette Suspension conversions for your car, visit http://www.classicedgedesigns.com

    Other vehicles:

    56 Chevy 2-door BelAir sedan
    56 Chevy 210 4-door sedan
    57 Chevy 210 4-door sedan
    1961 Willys CJ3B Jeep
    2001 Porsche Boxster S
    2003 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Duramax

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012

    Member #:571
    Posts
    3,363
    Richard, you bring up a point that goes beyond the seats. Cnut is correct that most OEM seats are wired hot to the battery though.

    It's a good idea to use a relay to power all the "key on" functions. It reduces electrical load on the ignition switch. This includes EFI functions if you have that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •