Just joined? Please introduce yourself.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Feedback on body mounts? Rubber or Poly?

Member #:1608

Any Feedback on body mounts? Rubber or Poly?

Guys looking to change out my body mounts. Anybody have real experience with both? Pros and Cons.

Thank you
    Joey

Registered Member

Member #:571
    It's a mine field on this call. Not sure there's a clear answer.

I've had too many problems with polyurethane bushings and other parts just disintegrating, some never loaded or used. Quality is all over the map on pu. (I've also worked with pu in industry and it's fine if molded correctly, but a lot of parts are pour molded, and the results can be most anything.) On the other hand I've seen some limited reports of the same thing happening to the Danchuk rubber mounts.

I'd go with the rubber mounts myself, thinking the chances are better.

Member #:115
    I went with poly mounts on my Nomad. I have no experience with them but I know rubber ones will flatten over time. I think that's less of a problem with poly, but I'm not sure.
    56 Nomad, Ramjet 502, Viper 6-speed T56, C4 Corvette front and rear suspension

Other vehicles:

56 Chevy 2-door BelAir sedan
    56 Chevy 210 4-door sedan
    57 Chevy 210 4-door sedan
    1962 327/340HP Corvette
    1961 Willys CJ3B Jeep
    2001 Porsche Boxster S
    2003 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD Duramax
    2019 GMC Sierra Denali Duramax

Member #:1653
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick_L View Post
    It's a mine field on this call. Not sure there's a clear answer.

I've had too many problems with polyurethane bushings and other parts just disintegrating, some never loaded or used. Quality is all over the map on pu. (I've also worked with pu in industry and it's fine if molded correctly, but a lot of parts are pour molded, and the results can be most anything.) On the other hand I've seen some limited reports of the same thing happening to the Danchuk rubber mounts.