PDA

View Full Version : 57 Convertible...buy or build? Leaning toward build

sshrum
10-16-2011, 06:37 PM
Hello.

I'm just starting out and have been wanting a Bel Air for quite some time. I've been going to the Pomona Car shows for about a year and have seen a lot of nice 55, 56, and 57s and I'm dead set on a 57 convertible. I'm seeing these in the price range of about $65-75K while their hard top equivs are going for the mid to high 50s. I know the market is softer on the 55's as these are abundant (about 3-1) when compared to the 57s that are at the shows and can be had for about $35k-45k.

Of the few 57 convertibles I've seen, they are not what I want and for that price I'm figuring that I would like to kit-build one as to get exactly what I want. I'm looking at the Tri-Five chassis with a LS9 engine and have only found one other person building like this:
http://www.lateral-g.net/forums/showthread.php4?t=31014

Figured if I'm gunna build it, build it right. Money really isn't a problem but I'd like to keep the build under $100k.

While I'm mechanically minded and have a basic familiarity with the engine bay (older engines, the LS9 might take some reading), I figured I bounce the idea of building a 57 Bel Air convertible off some guys that have hands on with the car. Any advice you have would be greatly appreciated.

I've found a company that sells the 57 convertible body here:
http://www.1957chevybody.com/body.html

I've seen that there are a number of ppl producing a tri-five chassis and would like to know which one most ppl prefer. I don't plan on racing the car (much) as it will be a weekend driver.

I'm also investigating every other aspect of this build (ie: suspension systems, braking, transmissions, etc). In all, I'm looking to build the best 57 I can.

Chime in on any part of the build. Right now I'm just doing the prelim part-n-pricing but would like as much input as I can get.

TIA

Sean

10-27-2011, 06:55 PM
Hi Sean