PDA

View Full Version : HELLO from Colorado!

chevynut
03-23-2012, 08:09 AM
I know I posted here last November but I don't see my thread anymore for some reason.

Anyhow, I'm from northern Colorado and have lived here almost all my life. I like it here with the exception of the masses of east and west coasters that have moved here in recent years, I guess to get to higher ground. LOL!!

I'm a mechanical engineer by profession and have worked for a large computer company for the past 35 years. I'll retire when they decide to get rid of me. :)

I own a 56 Nomad that I bought in 1973 for $500 after a 55 2-door sedan I bought was stolen by (I believe) the Kansas City Missouri police car theft ring. There's a story behind this that I won't go into right now, but I'm pretty certain the cops were involved in the theft. I had just finished the car after working on it for 2-3 years and it had a 67 Corvette 427, 4-speed, 4:11 gears, and a brand new lacquer paint job and interior. Never saw it again after only 3 days in KCMO.

My Nomad has been through a couple of previous build attempts, but it has never been on the road since I drove it home in 1973. A year or so after I bought it, I moved back to Colorado after finishing my schooling for my A&P Mechanics license in KCMO. My first plan was to build a gasser, so I built a new straight-axle frame for it....then scrapped that plan. Next I installed a C3 Corvette rearend, and a stock front with a disc brake conversion that I built myself (kits weren't available then). A divorce caused me to stop on the car in 1982 or so, and it went into storage for 20 years. I started building it again after I got divorced a second time. LOL!