PDA

View Full Version : Firewall Prep

Tom Bovay
04-20-2015, 05:33 PM
I'm new to the whole bodywork thing so I thought I could cut my teeth by starting with the firewall and inner fenders. I really don't know what I'm doing so any advice this forum would be much appreciated.

I have started by degreasing everything and then used a brass wire wheel to take as much of the rust off as I could and get it down to bare metal. The wire wheel was going really slow so I switched over to an 80 grit sanding disc on my angle grinder. This worked very quickly to take it down to bare metal but I was worried that it was taking too much off and thinning the metal. I did a small section and then decided I would ask some questions before I went any further. Does anyone have any recommendations on sanding material and techniques?

I also have several small dents in the firewall and wasn't sure how difficult it would be to fix.

JT56
04-21-2015, 05:16 AM
Welcome to the site Tom, glad your here. On mine I welded up the holes, then used a grinder then applied the Evercoat below and sanded to a feather finish. 3M has some similar products too. I'm no expert, but I believe the dents are shallow enough you can use the Evercoat on them. First clean them up real good mechanically (wire brush/sanding), then clean off with Prep All, apply Evercoat, sand, Prep All then sandable primer, Prep All then ready for paint.

http://www.evercoat.com/imgs/products/100425_LMetal-Glaze-ULTRA-pumptainer.jpg

chevynut
04-21-2015, 08:52 AM
It all depends on how much of a quality job you want to do. Obviously there are a lot of shortcuts you could take, and it all depends on your budget and resources (tools, etc.) that you have.