PDA

View Full Version : Piston rings

chevynut
03-09-2016, 08:01 PM
I'm not an expert on engine building by far and I need some new rings for my 502. It's a new crate engine and I'm replacing the rings, mostly due to the low-tension oil rings in these engines. The bores are standard size at 4.466" and are in excellent shape since the engine has never been fired. I plan to have the block honed with a torque plate as recommended by Total Seal in my discussion with them at SEMA.

I called Total Seal again today and discussed my application which is a good, strong, reliable street engine. I don't plan to race my car, unless it's in an autocross down the road someday. I have studied their various offerings and got some more insight into the pros and cons of each ringset.

We first discussed their "gapless" rings and they recommended a gapless 1st ring instead of 2nd ring. I asked how important the gapless feature was for my application and the response was that I'd gain a little horsepower, but it wouldn't be that meaningful for what I'm doing.

So that left their standard CR5750 ringsets. They have a CR5750 that is for a 4.466" bore. Then they have a CR5750 5 ringset that's the same rings, but are file to fit. I assume the 5 means they're 5 thousandths oversize.

The rep I talked to recommended file-to-fit rings to make sure all the end gaps are perfect. I'm not sure I understand the benefits of doing that when we're probably talking a couple of thousandths difference when all is said and done. Are the regular rings made to have a perfect end gap only if the bore is a perfect 4.466"? I'm sure there's a tolerance on that too, but I don't know what it is. I know a wide end gap causes some pressure loss, but how significant is it? If the gap is supposed to be 0.015" how much difference in pressure or horsepower is there if the gap is .020"?

Here's what Total Seal says about their gapless rings: