PDA

View Full Version : Wood Blocks Under Bucket Seat Tracks

hep1966
11-22-2016, 05:49 PM
In my 56, I have bucket seats from a 68ish Chevelle or similar. There are wood blocks under the seat mounts. I guess they help level out or get the seats to the height that the previous owner desired. Was that a common thing to do in the 70s? Should the wood be replaced with something else?

chevynut
11-23-2016, 06:06 AM
There's nothing inherently wrong with using wood blocks as spacers for bucket seats as long as your seats and especially the seat belts (if you have them) are safely mounted to the floor. If you don't have seat belts the wood is the least of your worries. ;)

NickP
11-23-2016, 07:01 AM
In my little pea pickin brain, it would seem like a recipe for disaster but, as I have indicated many times, I'm NOT an engineer. However logic says, depending how tall the piece of wood any sudden stops may cause a shift in position and certainly, were that E-Stop to contain a front collision it could really be a bad thing.

Me, I would take the dimensions you have from the completed assembly and develop a proper seat mount similar in fashion to this possibly.

http://nebula.wsimg.com/4894f479fae526cc42acc832f402edc4?AccessKeyId=1F0AB 926F4CF5A03C38E&disposition=0&alloworigin=1

WagonCrazy
11-23-2016, 07:58 AM
I'm no engineer either, but logic tells me that if the seat bracket has a bolt that goes thru a hole in the bracket and all the way thru the block of wood and thru the floorpan, and you have some very large (2" or larger) diameter flat-washers under the pan...and the whole thing is bolted together SOLIDLY...then in an accident...the seat probably won't move much.

But as Laszlo suggested, all bets are off on your safety if you don't have seat belts...

NickP
11-23-2016, 08:07 AM