PDA

View Full Version : replacing quarter panel

picker45
03-30-2012, 03:38 PM
Well I've been hashing this around in my head for some 6 months, and I've decided to lap joint my quarter than butt weld it. I know that some don't like it but when I cant get to the crest of the quarter to hammer the weld, nor to be able to seal it, I've decided to flange the quarter and no water will get into the joint it will be totally sealed. What you all think. Of course I already said I'm going to lap joint vs. butt so I only want your opinion, lol Bh

Run-em
03-30-2012, 04:24 PM
Most that butt weld do it to keep water OUT. If you take care & do the same, I should think it will not make any difference.

NDFabrications
04-27-2012, 06:55 AM
I did a set of quarters on a 72 chevelle wagon about 15 years ago lap joint with a crimper tool and the car was diven year round. Had the car for 12 years and never showed any signs of corrosion. I think lap would be just fine

chevynut
04-27-2012, 07:19 AM
I personally wouldn't do a lap weld, but it sounds like that's what you've decided to do, so I'm not sure what opinions you want.

Do you plan to spot weld it, or make a full weld bead. The full bead is going to cause just as much distortion as a butt-weld and it will be harder to straighten. A spot (plug) weld seam won't cause as much distortion, but it will leave lots of area for moisture to enter. If you seal the entire seam, you can alleviate that and it should work...but imo that's not the "right" way to replace a quarter on a restoration...maybe for collision work on a regular car. Some would call it a hack job. To me, it's as bad as sculpting the body with 1/2" of bondo...sure it'll work and last for many years, but it's not right imo. If I bought a car with a quarter that was lap-welded, it would come off and I would redo it right.

Sorry, you wanted opinions, so that's mine.