Just joined? Please introduce yourself.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 55 Chevy rear window tint

Registered Member

Member #:1414

55 Chevy rear window tint

Bought and installed blue window tint on side windows of my '55 Chevy gasser. Reviewed on youtube how to heat shrink to shape. I couldn't make it work. Have gone to 3 tint companies and they say they will have to install as 3 parts because of curve on sides. I'm not liking having any seams. I've seen several pics of 55-57 chevy gassers with rear window tinted and it doesn't look like any seams. Got any feedback?

Member #:230
    I have never done this before or know or anyone that i could pass any information on to you, but this person which sells on ebay may be able to give you some input. for some reason i can not post links?
    Last edited by 56-210Sedan; 12-08-2012 at 08:06 PM.
    55 Belair 2dr Sedan 350/350 loving every minute of it.
    56-210 2dr Sedan c4 front/rear suspension, and not sure when the ride will roll.
    Marty

http://www.picturetrail.com/56-210sedan

http://saccc567.com/

Member #:230
    55 Belair 2dr Sedan 350/350 loving every minute of it.
    56-210 2dr Sedan c4 front/rear suspension, and not sure when the ride will roll.
    Marty

http://www.picturetrail.com/56-210sedan

http://saccc567.com/

Member #:777
    My friend owns a glass shop, a GOOD installer can install on a Tri5 in one piece, sometimes the quality of the film will make a difference also, the film needs to be flexible enough but it does take a experienced installer to do it in one piece. Not saying you can't do it but it is tricky.

Registered Member

Member #:1414
    Ya, I bought this off the ebay site. Guess I'll just have to keep asking around. One shop said they could do it but insisted on removing the rear window to do it. Wanted to jack me for $185 labor just for rear window.

Member #:3
    Hey Gasser48