Just joined? Please introduce yourself.
Classic Edge Designs, LLC Prime Custom Cars, LLC MadMooks
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: AAW Classic Update Wiring Kit for 1957 ...

  1. #1
    Registered Member BamaNomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Member #:3217
    Location
    Rocket City, USA (Huntsville, AL area)
    Posts
    2,989

    AAW Classic Update Wiring Kit for 1957 ...

    For people that's installed the AAW classic update kit previously, Did you locate the AAW fuse Panel in the recommended location (basically where the original was located), OR did you find/try a better location??

  2. #2
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    May 2012

    Member #:625
    Posts
    2,883
    My 56 stock box stock location 55 has mostly stock wiring with updated box, had to move due to Rainngear.

  3. #3
    Registered Member BamaNomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Member #:3217
    Location
    Rocket City, USA (Huntsville, AL area)
    Posts
    2,989
    Can you explain that a little better, Mark??? You lost me.. but I'm probably being dense..

  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    May 2012

    Member #:625
    Posts
    2,883
    Raingear is designed to bolt where the stock fuse box attaches on a 55/56. I have no clue about a 57.

  5. #5
    Registered Member BamaNomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Member #:3217
    Location
    Rocket City, USA (Huntsville, AL area)
    Posts
    2,989
    thanks for explaining Mark... I didn't choose to install raingear in my '57... My '56 has raingear, and Ron Francis wiring, but those were installed before I purchased the car.

  6. #6
    Registered Member Nick_nl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013

    Member #:1694
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    25
    I did install the fuse box in the recommended location in my '57.

  7. #7
    Registered Member BamaNomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Member #:3217
    Location
    Rocket City, USA (Huntsville, AL area)
    Posts
    2,989
    If I had a console, I might consider that option, but I'll probably do as you did Nick... located the AAW fuse panel where they recommend. I'll probably put the additional circuit breaker panel under the hood (under the fender most likely and quickly removable for access)..

  8. #8
    Registered Member WagonCrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Member #:530
    Location
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Posts
    1,482
    For me...it was all about easy access to the panel without contortions up under the dash...so up under the drivers side dash WASN'T the place for it. I put mine centered on the transmission hump, approx under the glovebox. It will be covered by a custom made center console with an easy flip up panel for access.
    1957 Nomad- LS1/T56 on C4 chassis
    1959 Fleetside Apache 1/2 ton, shortbed, big window, 327ci.

  9. #9
    Registered Member BamaNomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Member #:3217
    Location
    Rocket City, USA (Huntsville, AL area)
    Posts
    2,989
    Have you got photos, Paul? OR did you put some in your project thread that I can go check?

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013

    Member #:1631
    Posts
    15
    Bama,

    Not sure if it is relevant, as I used a Painless harness, but I located my fuse panel on the firewall, adjacent to the kick panel and directly above the parking brake handle. I'm real pleased with the location as it's essentially out of sight to anyone in the car but still not difficult to get to. I left a large slack loop above it so it will be easy to swing out of the way if I ever need to access components above it. 20201110_065718.jpg
    Cheers!

    Ken in SSF
    56 One-Fifty Two-Door Sedan

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •