Just joined? Please introduce yourself.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Designing and implementing a coilover suspension

Member #:115

Designing and implementing a coilover suspension

Over the years I have designed many coilover shock setups for my C4 suspensions and other applications, and learned a lot in the process…..I’m still learning.

I will confine this discussion to “universal” coilovers, those with eyes on each end with the spring captured by caps on the coilover. There are some vehicle-specific coilover kits where the spring rests in a pocket in the frame, but those are somewhat different. The “universal” coilovers are typically used with front frame clips or rear suspensions.

Some guys say they don't like coilovers, and I have never understood that. They are a nice, compact package containing the shock and spring in one unit. Spring rate changes are simple as are ride height adjustments, much simpler than with just about any other suspension setup. And there are lots of spring rates to choose from. Coilovers are used in a lot of high-end sports cars and exotic cars as well so they obviously have benefits. And in the end, a spring is a spring so one type of spring should perform pretty close to any other type.

I believe the reason some guys don't like coilover suspensions is that many coilover implementations are either improperly designed or they are heavily over-sprung resulting in a harsh ride. I’ve made the latter mistake myself, as I’ve learned. It's easy to slap a spring on a coilover, adjust the ride height, and call it done. On most applications you could probably put a solid tube in place of the spring and get the car to the correct ride height, if the coilover length is correctly chosen. But it would ride like a tank. Also, coilovers are fairly expensive, at a cost of around $1100-1500 for a set of 4.

Selecting the shock